Planes, Trains, and Automobiles –Types of Transportation in Rio


 When planning a trip to Rio de Janeiro, we must consider expenditures, right? We budget. We save. We check prices of the must-see tourist attractions, accommodations, and restaurants. In fact, we think primarily monetarily while trip-planning, because dollars make sense…and cents, or in this case, centavos. Unfo

Transito no Rio

Choosing the right type of transportation can save you money, time, and energy. Check out the links on this page to minimize trouble and maximize fun.

rtunately, if we plan this way, we are really, painfully under planning.  What should we really expect? I’ll tell you one thing– I wish someone had given me a manual on how to manage types of transport in the grand city, because when I arrived, the get-to-where-I’s-going used up everything I had. That’s right folks. Transportation done the wrong way in Rio can spend more than just most of your money–It can also exhaust most of your time and energy.

In the next few entries, Wheelies on the Bus, “Driving Mrs. Crazy,” Not Your Momma’s Mini-Van, Rock the Streetcar (Bonde), “Under-Over Ground,” and “Politician Aero Plane (Newly erected, keeps changing positions),” we will explore the how-to’s of each type of transportation, which types are best to use to go where and why, and, of course, the costs of each. Get ready for a bumpy, crowded ride.

About Criocana

Oi os leitores! My name is Diana, and I am not from Rio. Lucky for you, I am an American who got an itch to move to Rio for six months without ever having been, previously. So on June 23, 2011, I boarded a flight with my big, bright pink bags and took off to paradise. The reason for my blog? Let`s just say there are a few things I wish I had known before I got there that I think you may find useful on your first visit. Don´t worry--the majority of this will still apply to you even if your visit is much shorter than mine. Comments are encouraged, even if you think I´m wrong about something. This is a play-by-play of my experience and advice to potential tourist to go with it. I, too, still have a lot to learn! Six months, you'll learn, is not very much time.
This entry was posted in Transportation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planes, Trains, and Automobiles –Types of Transportation in Rio

  1. Pingback: Wheelies on the Bus –brace yourself | survivingrio

Leave a Reply

